Progress

Every day you may make progress. Every step may be fruitful. Yet there will stretch out before you an ever-lengthening, ever-ascending, ever-improving path. You know you will never get to the end of the journey. But this, so far from discouraging, only adds to the joy and glory of the climb.
~ Sir Winston Churchill (1874 – 1965)

I believe it’s a defeatest attitude that says, “I don’t make resolutions because I’ll only break them.”  I say, live.  a little!  Dare to dream.  Take a challenge.  So what if you don’t keep your resolutions- you’ll never know if you don’t try!  And what if you do succeed?  At least a little in one area.  Make big goals, small goals, vague goals, definite goals, short goals, long goals, a new habit, break an old habit .  .  .

Don’t waste the year or end the year with regret!  What would you like to see changed, improved, finished at the end of the year?  Do you want to be more healthy, weigh less, weigh more, be debt-free, save more money, make better financial decisions, grow your business, start a business, get a degree, go back to school, finish school, adopt a child, start a family, get married, save the plant, save coupons, save a life?  The possibilities are endless!  The only thing that stands between you and your dream is you!

Write down your goals.  Make a plan on how you can achieve each one.  Perhaps just make a giant to-do list of everything you need to do during the year and post it where you’ll review it often and check it off as you go.  See how much progress you can make this year.  As long as there’s life there’s hope!

Don’t make excuses, make resolutions! 

Written for Sunday Scribblings!

15 responses to “Progress

  1. Hear, hear Faith! You are absolutely right everything starts and ends with ‘you’ and if you don’t dare you’ll never know..a great positive post to start off another year of scribbling..Jae 🙂

  2. I like the idea of a giant to do list – how satisfying to tick it off through the year 🙂

  3. What a brilliant post!! I loved it and agree wholeheartedly :o)

  4. Well done… a very powerful affirmation! I totally agree. While I say I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, there are always personal goals in the back of my mind, maybe more about who I am trying to be than what I am trying to accomplish. I like your “YES YOU CAN” attitude, it’s contagious!

  5. absolutely..no mountain was ever scaled by camping at the bottom. It only took me about 15 years of resolving to quit smoking and then one year I did it. You have to take a step…that first step

  6. Ah, this hits home for me. I did this based off of the Write it Down, Make it Happen theme and it worked pretty well so far. I have a list which I have a few things checked off already within the first three months. Feels good to make some sort of progress. Fantastic offering, thanks for jogging my memory!

  7. write it down, start to follow the plans,

    agree, love your entry, happy 2011.

  8. Brilliant! And a message I very much needed to be reminded of. Thank you!

  9. Very positive… good idea!

  10. Good list of goals to strive for.

  11. Faith, it’s funny, because I wrote my whole Manifesto on NOT making NY resolutions, and here you have every reason why one should! I loved this. But I’m still sticking to G.S. Batty’s suggestion that a good resolution is to drink at least one cup of coffee a day, LOL. Peace, Amy

    My attempt:
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/moving-last-chance-prompt/

  12. Churchill knew just how to say it, didn’t he…and you are so right. I’ve heard so many people say they won’t make resolutions because they will break them. I plan to make them and break them in the other direction—-even better than I planned.

  13. I like that attitude which makes us want to try.. makes us take risks 🙂 if you don’t succeed also, atleast we can say, “Been there tried that!!”

    My Survival, for Sunday Scribblings – Progress

  14. “Don’t waste the year or end the year with regret! ” says a lot and sends a strong message …leaving no room for regrets.Many suggestions too, very energetic and a positive start!!

  15. I have my giant list. It keeps growing, but I am ticking things off of it too! It is nice to have it!

Leave a Reply

