Improved

I heard about you from a friend who
Heard from her second cousin once removed
By the time I met you face to face
Your technique had improved
You took me in your embrace
Charm dabbled from your lips
You leaned in  and uttered
“I love you” in my ear
Was this love or something other?
I wanted to believe so I didn’t ask
I kept the role of friend, mate, and lover
Soon the tower we built began to lean
You broke your vow and chose another.

You heard it from a friend who
Heard from her second cousin once removed
‘Though you refused to believe it was true
I was better off without you – improved
You tried to win me back but only to see if you could
You couldn’t – I’m stronger now and wiser too
Thank you!

Written for 3WW’s prompt: dabble, lean, utter
Comments, Corrections,  and Critiques welcome!

5 responses to “Improved

  1. Loved the “second cousin once removed” repeated, just as gossip will be…
    Strong take on this prompt, very clever and the speaker won a little victory, too! Thanks, and have a happy evening… Amy BL

  2. Clever use of the words…Goodness, some people are terribly twisted,aren’t they? I think I’ve met a lot of them!

  3. So cleverly done and just brilliant to read, I loved it!!! Well Done :o)

  4. I love how you made it come full circle. I also really like the line “but only to see if you could;” it really makes the character. Nice job!

  5. love the rise and fall of this piece. Clever.

Leave a Reply

