No Limits

If you always put limit on everything you do, physical or anything else. It will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them. ~ Bruce Lee

Limits are so limiting. 

I like the Bruce Lee quote and believe I’ll make it my motto this year when I sit down and make my yearly resolutions.  In the 90’s my resolutions matched the year number.  For example, in 98 I had 98 resolutions.  I think this year I’ll make my resolutions match my age. 

In addition to resolutions, I love to reflect and think back on the year and count my blessings and the lessons I’ve learned.  I determine the year’s biggest blessing as well as the biggest lesson. 

Although I love the beginning of a new year all shiny with promise of a better year than the one we’ve left behind, I’m not a huge fan of change.  This year held enough change to last me a lifetime.  Some I expected but its those unexpected changes that about killed me.    But this is something that I mull over once Christmas is over.

I’m ready for a new, better year!  Bring it on! 

Just let me enjoy Christmas first.  🙂

Written for Sunday Scribblings

13 responses to “No Limits

  1. I gave up the resolution thing years ago. I always had great plans and rarely finished. I try to take on each day as it comes and strive to be a better person at the end of that day. mostly I hold my own, but sometimes I do move a little forward and every now and then drap back a notch. good luck with your New Year.

  2. I, too, am a non-resolutions person. Self-sabotage where I am concerned. But I love the tradition of reflecting on the year – and also, having been in a Jewish family for years, admire Yom Kippur and its cleansing power.

    I don’t know the nature of the “almost killed you” details, but you are surrounded in this poetry community by so many loving souls. I’m hoping that will make a difference for all of us. Let’s keep sending each other the love (but the poetry can still be sarcastic or ranting!!!). Peace, Amy

  3. Wishing you a fresh new year full of joy! Thanks for sharing!

  4. I love the Bruce Lee quote. I don’t usually dwell much on the past but I can see some benefit in counting last year’s blessings, seeing what you’ve learned and after this review decide on your future direction. Resolutions don’t work very well for me but I think a decision coming from honest reflection can go a long way.

  5. Limits are so limiting! I loved this post and and I loved the quote.
    I hope you have a wonderful christmas and a wonderful new year too :o)

  6. I hope you do have a peaceful Christmas – with that many resolutions it sounds like a break is in order..I remember at school one of my teachers said I had reached a ‘plateau’..I was so proud until I discovered it meant I wasn’t getting any better..still, looking up the word added to my vocabulary..now I shall think of Bruce Lee! Thank you for visiting..Jae

  7. I really have a lot to be thankful for this year, so I should come up with at least one resolution and try to stick to it!

  8. great quote, very inspiring. thanks

  9. I liked the quote a lot. Thanks for sharing 🙂
    And here’s wishing you a great year ahead. May you get what you set out for.

    Happy Blogging! 🙂

  10. Many thanks to all the visitors and blessings to all who comment! ; )

  11. 98 resolutions? Really? Wow! I do love the idea of new year, new start. I make resolutions too, and buy new notebooks, etc. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a great 2011!

Leave a Reply

