The Legend

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing. To keep our faces toward change and behave like free spirits in the presence of fate is strength undefeatable.”. ~Helen Keller

They say that I’m a dandy, a regular popinjay
Because they only know me now
And never in my younger day
A ne’re-do-well, not worth my salt
Is what they judgingly say
But ’tis okay for they know me now
And ne’er in my former day
Beneath my Mechlin lace and capes
Lies a bloke they’d sure admire
A master of plans and narrow escapes 
The epitome of feminine desire
If only they had known me ere
I wore this fancy attire
Travels far and adventures bold
I’ve had me one or two
Pleasures diverse and wealth untold
Of these I’ve had a few
Though they cost me my youth and my gold
I enjoyed them none the least
For  tales I could tell of my youth
Of dragons and perilous feats
Once knighted by the king
And blessed by a cardinal  priest
Several years spied I in South Beirut
Dueled dukes by the dozens – not braggin’
Of all my heroic pursuits
It’s just so you know where I’m standin’
Here at this moment of truth
You can attest to my fame and my virtue
For I proved them while standing with you
‘Twas never my wish to hurt you
My legend I’ve left in the past
Just as I promised I’d do
Still, ’tis a pity they know me now
An unsung hero they misconstrue

Note:  Just a fun little piece of fiction.  🙂

Written for Writer’s Island Prompt #28 for 2010: Adventure
Sharing with OSW .

22 responses to “The Legend

  1. Wow, a host of emotions from this poem. So nicely it flows and the words easily roll of your tongue. I am sure, you had an adventure or three.

    Great Job

    Wysteria

  2. A real saga, that. Nicely done.

  3. Such a lovely selection of words, a feast of English!

  4. It’s hard to know that you are not what others think. Like the poem, the words, the flow.

    Elizabeth

  5. Nice use of rhyme for a legend buried under lace and capes. I like the way the persona claims a self-identity out of the past while living on the rewards of the quest in the present, luxury obscuring the self that once was true and still feels true. Maybe not so dramatically, but we all have trouble reconciling who we see in the mirror, who others see day to day, and our self-conception, which may or may not once have been true, or partly so. Very nice!

  6. Your rich poem takes to a world full of adventure Wonderful

  7. This has the feel of a Victorian rap! It employs to excellent effect the mock-balladic tone and narrative richness of that era, but its occasionally varying scansion lends it the oral qualities of an incanted piece. A fine response to the prompt of Adventure.

  8. This is great fun – I see you as a hero in a Georgette Heyer novel. Why are you unsung? Your poem is your song. Great rhythm and some subtle rhyming, eg Beirut and truth.

  9. Wow, lots of imagery in this! I would say bulletproof!

  10. Hank aka kaykuala

    You’ve had your fair share of fulfilment which others crave for but were denied. Great write!

  11. An unsung hero, unsung no more…

  12. Cannot judge a book by it’s cover! This is quite whimsical but with a real message in it1 Well done.

  13. I like the old-fashioned language telling a contemporary story.

  14. ah but its fun to dream isnt it…

  15. good collage of words.

  16. Always fun to dream a little… 🙂

  17. I liked it or better yet I enjoyed reading and being swept into it. 🙂

  18. Nice take on judging others… a nifty One Shot!

  19. Yes, it is fun. I enjoyed trying to imagine your “protagonist.”
    Victoria

  20. I liked it, and I know you lost your time and your gold but you gave the world a whorl and really that’s what it’s all about. Good read. Thanks, Gay @beachanny

  21. Beautifully sung an unsung hero… loved the lines…
    “You can attest to my fame and my virtue
    For I proved them while standing with you
    ‘Twas never my wish to hurt you”
    Thanks for sharing..

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

